Hierarchy of Effects Model


The Hierarchy of Effects Model is based on the premise that advertising moves consumers systematically through a series of psychological purchasing stages in the following order:

  1. awareness
  2. knowledge (think)
  3. liking
  4. preference (feel)
  5. conviction
  6. purchase (do)

The model was created in 1961 by Robert J Lavidge and Gary A Steiner.[1]

See also



  1. ^ American Marketing Association, AMA Dictionary.

Comments are closed.