Antitrust Laws


Federal antitrust policy (or antitrust laws) is set forth in four laws: the Sherman Antitrust Act, the Clayton Act, the Federal Trade Commission Act, and the Robinson-Patman Act.

These laws are negative in character and outlaw restraints of trade, monopolizing, attempting to monopolize, unfair methods of competition, and, where they may substantially lessen competition or tend to create a monopoly, price discrimination, exclusive dealing, and mergers.[1]



  1. ^ American Marketing Association, AMA Dictionary.


Comments are closed.